AGREEMENT AMONG THE CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIALS (CEOs) OF THE EASTERN ARKANSAS WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AREA

Whereas, the 113th Congress of the United States has by Public Law 113-128 enacted the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 (WIOA), and

Whereas, said Act requires that the CEOs of Eastern Arkansas (Crittenden, St. Francis, Cross, Lee, and Phillips counties) enter into an agreement concerning their respective roles and responsibilities. This agreement is to begin on July 1, 2023, and to terminate in accordance with terms and conditions provided herein.

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS MUTUALLY AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

- A. Appointment of Members to the WDB: The CEOs shall appoint members of the local board utilizing the criteria as prescribed by the Workforce innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 and promulgated by the State of Arkansas WDB and selected from among the nominations made by the appropriate nominating entities and meeting the required criteria as outlined in the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. The CEOs shall agree on category appointments so that each county will have adequate representation on the Workforce Development Board of Eastern Arkansas (WDBEA).
- B. CEO Responsibilities as Related to the WDB: CEOs representing first class cities and counties in the Eastern Workforce Development Area include Crittenden County Judge, Mayor of West Memphis, Mayor of Marion, and Mayor of Earle; Cross County Judge, and Mayor of Wynne; Lee County Judge and Mayor of Marianna; St. Francis County Judge and Mayor of Forrest City
- 1. Collectively, by majority vote of the total number, the CEOs shall
 - a. Serve as the Grant Recipient, who bears the responsibility for WIOA funds with the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services.
 - b. Designate the Workforce Development Board of Eastern Arkansas as the grant subrecipient/fiscal agent to assist the Grant Recipient with the administration of the grant funds and agrees the fiscal agent has reliable internal and financial controls in place.
 - c. Establish WDB membership consistent with Federal and State policy.
 - d. Assure that the composition and authority criteria for WDBEA membership are met.
 - e. Work in partnership with the local WDBEA to develop and submit to the Governor a local, Four Year Plan.
 - f. Work in partnership with the local WDBEA in the coordination of the Memorandum of Understanding with one-stop partners.
 - g. Approval of the designation of the One-Stop Operator, and for cause shown, terminate the eligibility of same.
 - By agreement with the local WDBEA, develop the staffing capacity to carry out its duties under the Act.
 - i. By agreement with the local WDB, approval of the Local Workforce Development budget.
 - Negotiate and reach agreement with the local WDB and Governor on local performance measures.
 - k. Cooperate with the WDB in the establishment and appointment, by the local WDB, of the mandated sub-group committees of the local WDB.
 - i. Establishment of WDB by-laws consistent with Federal and State Policy.
 - m. I the case of disallowed costs, questioned costs, and /or misspent funds, the liability rests with the Eastern Arkansas Chief Elected Officials and will share fiscal liability based on per capital populations basis. Any and all remedies allowable should be utilized to satisfy questioned, disallowed, misspent, or mismanaged funds i.e., insurance carrier or bonding entity as appropriate.
- C. Oversight: The CEOs shall work in partnership with the local WDB to conduct oversight with respect to progress of youth activities, employment and training services and the one-stop delivery system to ensure that criteria established by federal and state government are met and in support of criteria established by the local WDB.

- D. CEO Designee: Woody Wheeless, Judge of Crittenden County, shall be authorized to act on behalf of the CEOs in matters outlined in this agreement. Judge Wheeless shall serve in this capacity as long as he serves in his current elected position, resigns either position or is replaced by a majority vote of the CEOs.
- E. Time of Agreement: This Agreement shall be effective from its execution and serves for the duration or until changed by a majority of the CEOs representing first-class cities and counties in the Eastern Arkansas Workforce Development Area as designated by the Governor of the State of Arkansas.
- F. Authorizing Signatures: The Eastern Arkansas Chief Elected Officials (CEOs) agree to the terms as presented.

Chief Elected Officials signature page for CEO Agreement

LEE COUNTY:
T
Lee County Judge - Terry Sandefer
A
On Ore
Marianna Mayor - Ora Stevens

St. Francis County Judge - Craig Jones

Forrest City Mayor - Larry Bryant

ST. FRANCIS COU

PHILLIPS COUNTY: Helena Mayor - Christopher Franklin Continued: Chief Elected Officials signature page for CEO agreement. **CRITTENDEN COUNTY:** West Memphis Mayor - Marco McClendon Marion Mayor - Tracy Brick **CROSS COUNTY:** Cross County Judge - Lynn Blake

PHILLIPS COUNTY:
Phillips County Judge – Clark Hall
Helena Mayor – Christopher Franklin
Continued: Chief Elected Officials signature page for CEO agreement.
CRITTENDEN COUNTY:
Crittenden County Judge - Woody Wheeless
West Memphis Mayor - Marco McClendon
Marion Mayor – Tracy Brick
Earle Mayor – Jaylan Smith
CROSS COUNTY:
Cross County Judge – Lynn Blake
Wynne Mayor – Jennifer Hobbs